encrypted capable scanner plans?
(1 viewing) (1) Guest

TOPIC: encrypted capable scanner plans?

Re:encrypted capable scanner plans? 21 Oct 2010 23:28 #2155

• wb4dyu
  • ( User )
  • Senior Boarder
LEP: Thanks for your reply. Your words do seem a bit, well, .....hostile....... A thank you to John for your comments too.
Last Edit: 21 Oct 2010 23:32 by wb4dyu.

Re:encrypted capable scanner plans? 21 Oct 2010 23:49 #2156

• wb4dyu
  • ( User )
  • Senior Boarder
John,
(personal note) When I was a cop I never encountered a criminal using a scanner to assist in their criminal acts. I'm sure there were some. And I worked in a BIG metropolitan area that was the scene of the drug wars in So. Fl. Those were the days when there was no trunking, just single output freq. repeaters with a voting system for the remote receivers. easy monitoring.

I believe that these scanner companies have a vested interest in providing good reasons, through PR firms, attorneys etc. to these agencies for not using encryption on at least dispatch channels.They also presumably have resources with which to argue this issue in various locales that most scanner enthusiasts don't.

Just my opinions....

Re:encrypted capable scanner plans? 22 Oct 2010 00:12 #2157

• wb4dyu
  • ( User )
  • Senior Boarder
John, in this area the news media are loaned by the PD's, at no charge to the media(only the taxpayers), receive only radios. How the departments know who actually uses these receivers is unknown.

Fighting city hall is much more costly, difficult and time consuming in large metropolitan areas. In this county there 31 municipalities, almost 4 million residents, each city with a mayor, council etc. etc. Twenty eight municipalities use the county radio system and only 3( one of which is encrypted) do not. One can only imagine the time and resources it would take to address this issue before all the entities.