database error?
(1 viewing) (1) Guest
  • Page:

TOPIC: database error?

database error? 30 Sep 2010 16:38 #458

• jweek
  • ( User )
  • Fresh Boarder
Just got my HP-1. I'm in zip 89502, followed the instructions, updated the firmware and database, currently have fw 1.02, db ver 09/28/2010.

When it starts scanning, it stops on Nevada>Sierra College (Nevada County Campus)>Sierra College Police Dispatch
Law Dispatch 860.9625 and plays a buzzing sound (attached).

I tell it to avoid this channel, but don't get any fire/police/etc.

I'm new to the scanner game and the best I can figure out is that this is the entry giving me trouble. The lat/long are 38.79294,-121.21356 yet they show up as 39 24'08.08, 120 35'09.38 in the database and is listed as FM. This location is about 90 miles away on the other side of the Sierra Nevada mountains.

The Nevada Shared Radio Systemalso uses this frequency on it's Red Peak repeater which is a EDACS system.

Is the error in the database causing my problem?

Thanks,

John:(

File Attachment:

File Name: 2010_09_30_14_17_40.zip
File Size: 76867
Last Edit: 30 Sep 2010 16:39 by jweek. Reason: had to zip audio file so it would attach....

Re:database error? 30 Sep 2010 17:14 #461

• UPMan
  • ( Admin )
  • Administrator
That noise is a control channel...probably from that EDACS system. I'm surprised that it would be re-used for another channel, but avoiding it is the right thing to do.

Looking at the Washau county area, its police and fire main dispatch are on the Nevada Shared Radio System (www.radioreference.com/apps/db/?sid=706). The bad news is that that system has not yet been tagged in the database with locations, so HP-1 cannot automatically select channels from it (I'm going to escalate this with the admin for that area so that it can be fixed, soon). The good news is that there is a workaround for "in the meantime."